Prison is the common way in most countries to solve the problem of crime. However, a more effective solution is to provide people with a better education. Do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, crime has been a serious issue in several parts of the world. There is an argument that better education would address this problem more efficiently, compared to locking up. From my perspective, I disagree with this statement for several reasons. To commence with, it is undeniable that education plays a vital role in preventing wrongdoing. Not only does this approach teach youngsters proper behaviours and manners, but it also eliminates the idea of committing a crime out of their minds, which reduces the crime rate among teenagers. Nonetheless, that is not always the case. There are still numerous other factors, which schools can not control, that encourage would-be criminals to involve in crime, such as gangsters. Hence, in this case, schooling can not be the key factor to tackle crime. I am convinced that prison should also be considered as an approach that has the same impact as proper education. Sentencing people who committed crimes to jail would create a warning for would-be criminals and reduce their willingness to break the laws. As a result, the crime rate will go down since people are afraid of being charged or punished by the government. Indeed, some extremely dangerous criminals, such as murderers, should be sent behind bars so that the public can be safe, as educating them seems to be impossible. In conclusion, although teaching is a good idea to tackle crime -related issues, it is not the most efficient measure. Additionally, prison and education should be used equally to address the problem of crime.