Violence in the media promotes violence in society. To what extent do you agree?

Nowadays, media is an important part of life for children and the elderly. People watch it to learn or entertain. However, a segment of society is convinced that broadcasting violent content may cause the promotion of violence in society. I completely agree with this opinion due to several reasons that I will further discuss in this essay. To commence, many media programmes use violence to grab the viewers attention. This works particularly well with the younger children and adolescents that look for the thrill. However, according to recent studies, children that are exposed to violence in the media become aggressive and lack empathy. To illustrate, younger children and adolescents spend around 6-7 hours a day watching TV and playing video games. It means that they are greatly influenced by the content they view. As a result, depicted cruelty can make them more aggressive and violent towards others. Adding further, brutality shown in movies is heroic and people blindly imitate their behaviour. Take, for example, Batman. For many people, Joker is a real hero, although he is a negative character who kills innocent people. Children and adolescents are misled and told that violence is good and that it can help to solve problems. Similarly, in video games, brutality is encouraged. Because a child playing a video game does kicking and killing with delight. Subsequently, they accept this behaviour as normal and later, do it to their friends. To conclude, the media plays an important role in our society. Children and adults exposed to violent content will unconsciously be more aggressive.