The gap between the rich and the poor is widening very fast. What are the causes and effects of this widening gap? You may give solutions based on your knowledge and experience.

The bridge between those who are well off and those who are economically challenged is getting broader day by day. Not only this essay will discuss the causes behind it but also it will discuss the effects. To begin, there are various causes of the ever-widening gap between the rich and the poor. Firstly, though the motto of the government is redistribution of wealth, it has failed completely in achieving this objective. The trickle-down approach of governments assumed that it will help to alleviate poverty, however, a quick look at stats reveals that wealth is getting accumulated by only some people. For example, a recent survey by Time magazine mentioned that the top 20 people in India own more than 2 times of the Indian GDP. Secondly, those who are better off have a moral obligation to help those who are worse off. But, there are very few who believe in this, since there are not many corporates into social welfare. Furthermore, this gap between the higher and the lower economic strata is producing catastrophic results. First and foremost, the lifespan of those below the poverty line is lower by 28%, when compared with people above the poverty line. If people are going to live lesser, then their chance to contribute to society becomes bleak too. Additionally, the poor are more vulnerable to exigencies such as medical emergencies. Which can result in a perennial debt trap and makes it next to impossible to break the vicious cycle of poverty. A recent survey of the World Bank has suggested that 78% of economically weaker people could not come out of poverty, as they had taken loans to pay for their medical bills. To conclude, the gap between the rich and the poor is getting wider due to the non-performance of governments and the ill will of corporates. I think that there are some serious consequences of this bridge, such as lower life expectancy and the perennial debt trap of economically challenged people. The solution lies in addressing the causes.