Some people think that everyone has the right to have access to university education, and that governments should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion.

In this day and age, there is a common belief that governments should abolish tuition fees, irrespective of students ’ financial status. From my perspective, while this standpoint might be justifiable to a certain extent, I believe that pursuing a tertiary education without a fee could do more harm than good. On the one hand, the free-college policy can help students, especially the underprivileged, stand a better chance of obtaining higher living standards could be plausible to some degree. In other words, thanks to qualifications, they can have access to a wide variety of higher-paying jobs, which is a driving force behind a more educated workforce. Therefore, this may act as a precursor to not only a thriving economy but also a civilized society. However, the usefulness of a college degree in job seeking is questionable at best since if everyone is entitled to university education, it is no longer feasible for them to find employment, let alone the financial abundance. On the other hand, tuition exemption can take a heavy toll on students ’ academic performance should be taken into account. To be more specific, due to financial obligations, students are more likely to study in earnest and apply themselves to getting high marks. Thus, unless this financial duty is not dispensed with, students could be indifferent to their studies. For example, they can play triumph or miss the exams since they feel that this failure does not cost them anything. Those behaviours may lead to deteriorating performance and students would fail to benefit from their education. The conclusion to be drawn is that despite the fact that free-of-charge higher education is able to help graduates have higher living standards, there are still underlying limitations to it.