Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

To have a job at prestigious firms has always been a norm for many decades, people these days, however, prefer to be freelance rather than working in a company or organization. This essay will answer the question of why people choose to be self-employ over working in a firm, and what could be the drawbacks resulted from that trend. To embark on, people nowadays are more educated than it was before; due to the technological advancement, people can learn a lot of things on the internet including financial knowledge. There are numerous studies report that the popularity of content related to finance in the past few years has skyrocketed, which means that people these days have a fair amount of financial knowledge. Without working hard, they use their financial knowledge to invest in the stock market. In other words, they can stay home and still make money. Hence, instead of having to go to the office of nine to five, they now prefer to be self-employ by continuing their investment at home. Nevertheless, investing in the stock market is very risky and insecure. To illustrate, provided that the stock falls, not only the investor does not get the profit, they will also lose their principle. Moreover, when a person is self-employ and gets sick--being unable to work--that means he/she cannot earn any income. Thus, being self-employed is not a financial-secure job. To conclude, many people nowadays choose to be self-employ because they can find an alternative way to earn money without having to work for anyone. Nonetheless, freelance is considered to be a financially insecure job. In addition, it is my view that the trend of people being self-employ will continue surging.