Doctors should be responsible for educating their patient about improving their health. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this.

The role of a doctor is indeed to educate the patient about the manner in which they can improve their health. However, I would disagree with the premise that it is solely the physician's responsibility to educate the public, instead I believe it is the duty of the schools, homes, media, governments, and even the workplace to educate the public. In this day and age and with the advancement of technology, knowledge about improving one’s health is at their fingertip, thereby they do not need to rely on doctors for all information. The medical practitioner has a duty to shine a light on all the facts which would help an individual improve their overall well-being, but in truth that is as far as they can reach. The actual process of physically exerting oneself is that of the individual. This is where schools, homes, and even the workplace can assist Schools can implement longer sports sessions, educate students on the importance of exercise and good health, at home parents can reinforce these concepts in their children and encourage them to take up physical activity. Also having family excursions also help to create awareness of overall health. In the workplace, companies can engage in wellness seminars that cover the basic topics on how one can improve their mobility even whilst at their desk. An example of this would be that of companies in Technopark Trivandrum, where each company hosts a wellness seminar, once in 6 months as part of a series of modules on improving the workplace. Lastly, we cannot ignore the role the government plays, as they are responsible for creating the infrastructure required for recreational purposes. The ministry must also limit the availability of junk food outlets, and ban supermarkets and other shopping outlets from selling highly caffeinated soft drinks. In addition, they need to invest more funds in creating reliable public transport systems, which will make it easier for the public to travel to and from work. Furthermore, heavier taxes can be imposed on cars, scooters, and hoverboards, which would curtail the use of such medians for transport, thereby resulting in crowds having to walk to their nearest bus or rail terminals. Also, the encouraging of various marathons can help get crowds interested in participation, and also spike up the population's interest in getting healthy. In conclusion, I assert the fact that the physician is responsible for educating their patients, however, the parts of schools, homes, media, governments, and even the workplace cannot be ignored.