Many people today find it difficult to balance the demands of their work and personal life. What are the causes of this situation, and what can individuals and employers do to reduce the problem?

In today's hectic and busy life, time management is one of the most important skills that one should have to well organize his or her personal works. However, a great number of people fails to control their job and private life appropriately due to the heavy workload. This essay will indicate several common reasons behind this phenomenon and various possible solutions to handle it. Probably the underlying cause of overworking is a wish to earn a living and a desire to become successful in one's career. Due to the extremely competitive job market, employers must strive as hard as possible to keep their professional status, as they might be replaced as soon as they are unable to perform well. For instance, it is not uncommon that young people often work overtime, eat convenience food, and stay up overnight to deal with their heavy workload. This has negatively affected their personal activity, including the detrimental health and a lack of spare time to spend with their beloved ones. Thus, although people tend to strive extremely hard to achieve higher positions at the workplace and earn more money, what they have actually been trading is their own health and some moments for themselves. There are a variety of solutions to address this situation before it becomes a serious social issue. First of all, the government should increase the salary for each individual in order to ensure a decent life for the citizen and improve the overall living standard. If that happens, the residents will not have to worry about making money anymore, and as a result, they will focus more on their personal lives, including their physical and mental health, and some precious time spending with their families and friends. Furthermore, the employees should consider carefully whether to take such a huge amount of work before taking the plunge. Besides, they are encouraged to spend at least several hours to let themselves relax and enjoy their lives. A useful example of this is my own mother, as she decided to give up her pressure job to live peacefully with her children. In summary, this is a problem that has both social and physical effects, and the solution will require combined action by manufacturers, schools, and authorities. If these strategies are put into action, both work and private demands can be perfectly met.