Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourist but not local people. Why is this the case? What can be done to attract more local people to these museums?

It is true that not many local people pay a visit to museums or historical sites. This essay will outline several reasons of this case and suggest some viable measures that can be taken to encourage more local people to these places. There are several explanations that are worth mentioning about this issue. The key cause is that indigenous people are too familiar with the museums and historical places that they don’t take interest in. These sites often represent cultures and history of a particular area and local people there already have a good understanding of these knowledge at school. Foreign tourists, however, are keen on experiencing and exploring new cultures and history of other countries that they travel to. Another reason why local people are not interested in going these sites is the lack of attraction. Many historical places have remained unchanged after many years while some museums, due to financial difficulties, display a few exhibits and don’t have enough docents for visitors. Some possible solutions can be implemented to attract more local visitors. The first action that governments can take is to increase the media coverage of museums and historical sites. One good example is to frequently broadcast community events taking place in historical attractions. Furthermore, governments should allocate resources to these locations. In this way, they can afford to purchase more exhibits, hire docents, and refurbish historic monuments. These two essential actions would make these places more appealing and encourage local people to make a visit as a result. In conclusion, great familiarity and lack of appeal are two major culprits why local people are not keen on visiting museums and historical sites, which can be tackled by promoting on news and investing more money.