People in many countries are spending less time with their family. What are the reasons, and effects of this?

It is true that people nowadays no longer spend as much time with their family as they used to in the past. This essay will demonstrate some causes of this trend before outlining negative consequences on the family and the society alike. There are two compelling reasons for reduced time for family. One of them is that people have hectic work schedules. In fact, in this modern society, most people are occupied with work until very late night even during the weekend and cannot find spare time for their own families as a result. Another reason for this problem is the overuse of technology. A majority of people, especially younger generations, spend an enormous amount of time surfing on social media sites such as Facebook, Twitter, and the like. In other words, these people are inclined to interact with virtual friends rather than engage in conversations with family members. This trend may bring out serious repercussions not only on the family but also on the society. On a family level, as members don’t spend much time with each other, the family bond would be weakened. This can also cause undesirable misunderstandings or conflicts and even broken families in the worst-case scenario, which is reflected via the growing rate of divorce. On the societal level, when parents spend more time working and less time with their children, they can leave their children vulnerable with toxic influences from bad friends or social media. This would result in anti-social and violent behaviors in children and probably a rising crime rate. In conclusion, busy work schedules and the abuse of social media are two major culprits of insufficient time for family, which have some adverse effects on family and society alike.