Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary schools. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Many people believe that children should learn a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary schools. This essay would demonstrate that the advantages of this overshadow the disadvantages. Regarding the disadvantages of this problem, firstly, because at a young age, children will not be taken seriously when learning a foreign language. For example, in English centres, children like 4-9 years old do not focus on studying but learn while playing. They only come to the centre to play instead of learning English. Secondly, children are prone to language disorders because they have to speak their mother tongue and learn and speak a foreign language at the same time. For example, my younger brother had to take a year off school to treat his aphasia when he mixed Chinese and Vietnamese. Because the language disorder leads to difficulty in communication and a certain lack of confidence. Even though there are some disadvantages, the advantages could still hold more weight. Firstly, the children will learn faster when they learn from a young age. According to an experiment in Japan, they choose about 20 children from 4 to 16 years old for this experiment. The result is children who learn a new foreign language between the ages of 4-9 will be very easily absorbed such as pronunciation, grammar, … Secondly, children learning a foreign language early also builds a child's confidence in front of a crowd. They can be confident because of their foreign language skills later when they learn foreign languages ​​early. Besides, learning a foreign language will also make children develop a habit of studying. For instance, my younger sister learned English when she was 4 years old. She has a good habit of studying such as getting up at 5 am to learn new words, working hard on speaking and writing every day. To sum up, the minor disadvantages will never prevent us from concluding that knowing foreign phrases will never be excessive. In the future knowing one more language might be very prestigious.