Museums and art galleries should concentrate on works that show history and culture of their own country rather than works of the other parts in the world. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Museums and art galleries have played a paramount significant role with respect to the culture field for a long time. While some people suggest that they should purely focus on displaying local culture, others with contradicting opinions think that international works also bring a wealth of valuable benefits. Personally, I think both views are equally valid. Doubtlessly, there is a frenzy of reasons why local museums and art galleries should be given priority. However, one of the most tremendous benefits people can gain from going to national exhibitions is to build a stronger sense of historical and personal identity. It is a common norm that museums and art exhibitions house a wide range of ancient ornaments with plagues consisting of fully detailed information written on the surface. Therefore, this will help people to gain a deeper understanding of the culture and the harsh journey our forefathers went through to build an independent nation. For instance, the drapery soldier’s clothes and protective shield used by our ancestors during wartime can help us appreciate nowadays independence and instil their patriotism. Moreover, such places also help to preserve national cultural diversity. Nowadays, many minorities ethnicities are in grave danger of dying out. Therefore, having their works on display will wildly spread to a wealth of local visitors, which help to maintain minority ethnic’s culture in this fast-paced society. While the importance of displaying local masterpieces is widely acknowledged, adopting international artistic works is taken into keen consideration. Applying works all around the world will help to diversify the content of museums and art galleries in order to meet the ever-increasing demand for educational values of museum-goers. Phenomenal paintings from great artists such as Leonardo da Vinci or Van Gogh, once displayed will draw a great appeal to visitors and broaden their horizons. Furthermore, housing works from cross-bordered countries will provide history-lovers with a more rounded view over one event in specific and history in general. For example, Vietnamese wars portrayed more vividly if artefacts from rudimentary tools to even complicated weapons of enemies such as the French and the Japanese at such time were displayed. In conclusion, the ultimate goal of art exhibitions is to spread valuable knowledge. Therefore, I think that the importance of global and national historical works are equally recognized so instead of focusing on one perspective, we should diversify the content.