Some people believe that we cannot learn anything from the past for our life today, while others believe that history is a valuable source of information to understand human life. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

When it comes to history and how important it is for us to understand humans there are contrasting opinions. Some believe that it is not useful for our present, whereas others think that it's helpful, and it can help us not committing the same mistakes. I personally believe that there is so much that we can learn from history and use in our day to day life. Firstly, many adults don't believe in the power of history. They think that what's happened is simply the past, and it will be in no way helpful for the present. Moreover, our society is constantly changing and progressing so past events will not have any significance for our population. For example, with the rise of technology, the situations we face are totally different to those from centuries ago. On the other side, other adults say that the past has more benefits than what we think. Our society has changed, sure, but there are topics which were faced previously that still affect us to this day. If we think about racism and homophobia, they look like recent problems, even though they were still very much present throughout history so learning all about it can help us. In my opinion, history is one of the greatest things that we could study, and only if we apply and really focus on what it is telling us, we will realise that the same problems have been affecting us for years and years so knowing about it will aid us in understanding them on a deeper level and finding a proper solution to them. In conclusion, there are diverging ideas on the matter of history and its importance, however, I truly believe that it is of enormous significance for a deeper understanding of human life, and without it we are bound to commit the same errors over and over again.