The government should lower the budget on the arts in order to allocate more money to education. To what extent do you agree

There is no doubt that the government has a responsibility to finance sectors that will help the growth of the country such as education, healthcare and even the arts. However, there are some who are against the idea of providing more funds for the arts as compared to the other areas. I agree with the notion that the ministry should provide funds for the promotion of the arts. Firstly, education plays a vital role in the development of a country. This is because if a country possesses a lot of advanced technologies, its industry and economy will grow faster than other countries which in turn, will result in more job opportunities and better quality of life. Therefore, to alleviate the worsening conditions of society every nation needs a number of engineers, doctors and research professionals. That is why the government should invest more in literacy so that underprivileged pupils can also become literate. Those who have a creative knack can help develop a tourist area to one which attracts even more tourists, thereby generating greater revenue for that particular locality. This skill will also help them land employment for bigger metropolis projects, which will help bring revenue to the city. For example, in Trivandrum, the capital of Kerala various artists are requested to paint murals all over the city, with the intention to beautify the city centre. An art exhibition is held every in Cochin, with the aim of promoting the local artists. This exhibition attracts many foreign tourists which help boost the economy. In addition to this, such projects give these creators a platform to participate in international showcases, which will help garner global recognition for the creator as well as the nation as a whole. In conclusion, I feel the administration has a moral responsibility towards its citizens to equally finance both education and the arts as it will help with the overall development of the country.