Overpopulation is the world's most serious environmental problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, many believe that the rising population number has become a major concern to ecosystems on Earth. I fully agree with the statement because of the contribution it has on other environmental issues such as global warming as well as the phenomena of sinking lanscapes landscape. Hence, this essay will extensively explain how I support the statement based on real-life examples. To begin with, overpopulation may contribute to the presence of global warming, which is significantly recognisable these days. Global warming means the planet is getting hotter each day due to the greenhouse gases that trapped heat in the atmosphere. Moreover, with a surge in the number of occupants on Earth, the production of these gases increases as well. In addition, these emissions are usually a result of human activities like burning fossil fuels for electricity. For instance, based on a National Geographic article in 2020, greenhouse gases have covered 40% of our atmosphere and contributed to 3 degrees Celsius increment of world's temperature. Secondly, a recent discovery has been made about how the growth of the population is slowly sinking cities and islands all over the world. Many areas that were above the water, are now flooded or buried under the ocean. Undoubtedly, the incident happens because people keep trying to build housings in order to accommodate the escalating number of inhabitants. Eventually, the land in some topographies, could not hold the weight of the infrastructure above it. For instance, Jakarta, a city with one of the world's most dense population per area, is rapidly sinking since 2016 and losing its northern region into the sea. In conclusion, from these two examples, I strongly agree that the climbing number of people is a significant concern to the environment, as it may have a 'domino effect' on other environmental issues.