Scientists believe that in order to protect the environment people must use less energy in their daily use. However, most people have not changed the way they live. Why do you think many people have not taken individual actions. What could be done to encourage them to take actions?

The excessive use of energy by humans has had catastrophic consequences over the past century. After conducting a lot of researches, scientists have come to the conclusion that in order to curb environmental impacts, humankind must reduce energy usage. However, only a small fraction of individuals have taken this matter seriously. I think the main factors contributing to this inaction are unawareness and ignorance but there are some solutions to convince the people to take action. To start with, a large proportion of people have not grasped the importance of changing their lifestyles for the sake of the planet. With the unbridled augmentation of industries, many people assume that these factories are the only serious threat to the the environment and believe that the household's energy consumption beyond its limit has either very little or no danger. Therefore, this lack of awareness, makes them use it steadily every day. Apart from that, the people are too ignorant and too arrogant to understand the level of the upcoming danger. Individuals usually prioritize their interests over society and national goals. Hence, they would not bother themselves to reduce their convenience tools such as stop using outdated cars. I think in order to make people recognize the importance of environmental responsibility the government authorities should invest in environmental studies as a compulsory subject. Education and awareness campaigns can teach the younger generations about the possible dangers of overconsumption of energy and renewable sources of energy. When children are raised with concerns regarding the well-being of the world, they will most probably do anything possible to tackle this issue. Besides, to make individuals less arrogant, their parents should raise them with a sense of responsibility toward other people and their habitat. When kids are taught to prioritize the health of the planet and the community over personal needs, they will take part in activities to reduce energy usage. Therefore, this habit of using less energy will be passed to other generations and people will learn to care about our nature. In conclusion, a lot of people either are too ignorant to change their lifestyles for the sake of the world or are not aware of the consequences of their actions. Therefore, we must make people understand the importance of containing energy and teach them to consider the well-being of everyone and everything, as it is our duty to keep our environment clean and habitable.