Some people say that watching TV programmes and movies related to crime are popular. Why do you think it’s popular and how does it affect society?

According to some, TV series and films about crime are getting more and more popular these days. I believe this is mainly due to a well-thought-out plot that these shows have in common and, therefore, it might encourage its target demographic to be more careful and attentive in the long run. It is not surprising that crime-related movies are gaining popularity in the modern world. These films usually attract the viewers by shocking plot twists or small Easter eggs that are hidden everywhere. As a result, people are driven to watch more, make predictions and solve puzzles presented in the series. I believe that those activities make people feel engaged in some sort of investigation. For instance, the audience might imagine themselves as a detective or a police officer that is investigating first -degree murder and looking for the killer. Since such topics are quite controversial in a society due to the danger they cause, people are often skeptical about liking TV shows about crime. However, as it was mentioned above, the purpose of these movies is rather to get people to pay attention to the details instead of teaching them how to commit crimes. Consequently, the audience learns how to take the hint and connect the dots which allows them to identify the murderer, for example. In conclusion, I think that people are keen on watching crime-related TV programmes because of sense of reality they receive while trying to solve the mystery and, therefore, viewers are taught to be alert and witty.