Many believe that modern technology has brought people together, but others say that it has driven us apart. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion.

These days, people spend more time on modern technologies such as social media and gaming sites, however, it has also led to people spending more time online and not in person with the society around them. In my opinion, while modern automation has made so many things easier, it has driven communities apart in reality. Technology has been able to ease our life and solve a number of problems. With technology, people are able to connect with anyone across the globe which was not possible in the past. It has helped in building more connections with people around and stay connected at all times. For example, platforms like Facebook, Instagram and WhatsApp have helped many people connecting with like-minded people on a larger scale. A smartphone is one of the biggest inventions of the modern world which has led to huge disruption in a lot of fields. Most businesses are able to operate online without the need for a brick and mortar setup. Although modern technology has helped people come closer and together, people have stopped spending time with each other in the physical world. Moreover, the culture of face to face talks and local community activities is no more prevalent in most parts of the world. People are happier in connecting with communities online with people they have never met and might never meet in future. This has led to minimised in-person interaction with real people around us. To conclude, while modern technology has played a huge part in our lives in making earth one connected planet, it has also led to a decline in the real feeling of meeting people in person which has driven them apart.