Whoever controls the media also controls opinions and attitudes of the people and there is little that can be done to rectify this. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays the media has an undeniable influence on our lives. While most people might think they are living in a world of freedom and liberty, it is believed that the media has taken over every aspect of our lives with its domineering power. I believe we should take action to diminish this effect or otherwise we are doomed to be dominated. Over the past few decades, the media has increased its popularity among people from all walks of life. In addition to conventional ways of influencing people, the media is now empowered by many new tools: Instagram, Facebook, Twitter and many others. Firstly, the media is bombarding folks with news and information which as a result, enables it to cause inclination or bias for or against nearly everything. This means that whoever controls the media, can use its power to influence people's minds and attitudes. Secondly, the media influences the public by some sort of encouragement mechanism. For instance, we are somehow encouraged by advertisements to drink more unhealthy foods or drinks like fatty snacks and sugary carbonated drinks. In other words, the media is powerful enough to push people towards its desired direction. At first glance, it might seem impossible to liberate ourselves from such dominant media but in my opinion, there is some hope to at least lessen its effects. In the first place, people should read more to raise their awareness of political, economic and cultural issues which in turn, an enlightened public will not be easily deceived by whatever the media feed them. Secondly, people should get rid of their unwise tendency to accept anything without thinking deeply and try to use their common sense. On top of these, it is essential to learn lessons from other nations’ destinies in order to seek out new ways of fighting this dominance. In brief, we can’t ignore the media ’s huge effect on our thoughts and attitudes which is surrounding us with biased information. While the media has gained an indisputable power, we should take action to fade its effects away and this is not conceivable unless we raise our knowledge and use our wisdom.