Some people believe that subjects such as art, music, drama and creative writing have a bright future. Therefore, schools should spend more time teaching these subjects. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people argue that schools should prioritise the learning schedule on arts as they can brighten the youngsters' future. In fact, I disagree with the statement for two main reasons. Firstly, focusing on the arts in schools will make the students feel excluded. Not all of the students have a passion for the arts. Some of them may like maths, science and physical exercise. By focusing on the arts, learners will see the learning process as constraint. It will make them feel unmotivated to go to school, and they might skip the class easily. Consequently, youngsters opt to stay at home rather than learn at school. In addition, this policy can cause juvenile delinquency. As students leave the learning process, it will give them more leisure time outside the school. It will bring potential to meet criminals outside. As a result, they can easily get affected by criminals and consume drugs and alcohol. Secondly, prioritising on arts will decrease interest in natural science. As pupils will learn more about the arts, it causes not be enough time to learn hard science. This policy will make the learning process unbalanced. Moreover, this phenomenon will bring long-term effects on the science field. For instance, there will be slow progress research about illness and the universe, as not many people have the opportunity to learn science in class. Furthermore, the development of the technology will be postponed. It will be hard to hire engineers in the future. As a result, people will be stuck in the traditional era. To sum up, this essay examines the impacts of prioritising arts in school, which are making students feel unincluded and decreasing their interest in hard science. Therefore, I remained firmly convinced that spending more time in art class is not a wise option.