9.An increasing number of developing countries are expanding their tourist industry. Why do you think it is the case? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It has been pointed out that more and more developing nations have been concentrating on developing tourism. Personally, I opine that the lower requirement of tourist business is the reason for this trend, and it is a thriving situation as it creates economic benefits to countries. First of all, compared to other professions, such as education or science, the requirement of professional knowledge is extremely lower to enlarge the size of travel. As long as local residents are equipped with basic language skills and familiar with local cultures, politicians are able to hire ample staff to work in this area, which prompts the authorities to pay more attention to increase the size of travel. For instance, despite the fact that tourism has become the main industry in Thailand, the authorities have been putting more effort to explore several peaceful rural areas in order to attract more foreigners to have a holiday in Thailand. The political leaders explain that it is incredibly easy for them to employ workers to serve visitors as long as local individuals can speak English, which attracts them to invest more to expand touristry. Furthermore, developing travel is beneficial to the local economic growth. This is because the expansion of the tourism industry has been increasing the demand for a massive number of relative industries, such as accommodation, transportation and tourist attraction tickets, which are significant contributors to the local economy. As an illustration, the minister of the tourism department of Beijing states that thanks to the expansion of the local tourism, as holiday-makers also like to appreciate dumplings or Peking ducks while having a trip to Beijing, a huge growth can be seen in the service sector, leading to a rise in national production. In conclusion, although people may vary in their opinion about the reason why an increasing proportion of developing countries put efforts to exploit tourism, and whether it is a positive circumstance or not, I am of the opinion that the lower investment is the reason, and it is a positive trend as it results in economic prosperity to those countries.