In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

⇒ Living alone has become increasingly popular with many people these days. From my point of perspective, the benefits that accompany this development are slightly more significant than the drawbacks. On the one hand, it is true that living alone can be harmful to residents in many aspects. First and foremost, there is no immediate help and support for those who choose this style whenever they suffer from health issues. For example, if a man who lives single get sick, he will not have anybody to rely on and therefore he can take more time to recover after this problem than others living with relatives. In addition, this kind of settling also makes residents feel empty and bored at certain moments. Specifically, without any face-to-face interaction at home, these citizens do not have anybody to talk to directly and share about their life or at least have a meal with them. On the other hand, settling alone also brings about many considerable merits. Firstly, this means of living offers a great chance for residents to enhance some personal skills, such as managing personal finance and timetable, cooking themselves or even learning how to do some housework. These skills will be helpful for them not only in time at home but also in their workspace. Moreover, living alone also allow individuals to enjoy their life in their own way without being disturbed by other people. An example can be seen in Vietnam where the living alone rate is increasing in recent years, many youngsters choose not to live with their parents or siblings in order to do whatever they want in every time. In a nutshell, it is true that living alone create both positive and negative impact on the citizens who choose this living style. However, I am of the opinion that people can still gain a lot of significant benefits from this way of settling as long as they are fully aware of the potential threats.