In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing. What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

In a number of,nations population are gaining more and more bodyweight and they are losing their health as well as a level of fitness. The main cause of this is sedentary living standards and the culture of fast food. It can be solved by more physical activities and awareness of organic foods. In this essay, I will explore some of the reasons and suggest two solutions. One of the major reasons for gaining more weight is the luxurious lifestyle of people. This is because innovation in different technology helps people ’s life more easily and they are habitual of it. Take a car as an example, fifty years back people used to walk more but nowadays, they walk less and ride more. Furthermore, the culture of eating a readymade meal and fast food are another reason for degrading people health. In most of the developed countries, people are busy with office related work and they do not have time to eat cooked meals. However, fortunately, there is a number of solutions to resolve this problem. One of the prominent solutions is to promote more physical exercise among citizens. This can be achieved by restricting cars and promote the cycle. For example, the Netherland develops more cycle paths so their citizens are healthier and fit than other European countries. High tax rate on sugary food and fast food can be another solution to improve people ’s health. This may help to increase the price of fast food and soft drinks, so people would tend to consume less. For instance, Switzerland has implemented this kind of policy and the positive outcomes of this policy help them healthier countries. In conclusion, people are gaining weight and degrading their health by sophisticated living standards and it can be solved by being more aware of physical activeness and the need to tell them the impact of fast food on their health. I suggest the government should hike taxes on cars and ready-made meals and provide subsidies to cycle and organic food.