In many countries, people now wear western-style dress such as suits and jeans rather than traditional clothing. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative development?

People wear numerous types of dresses in order to express their traditions and emotions. Despite the fact that western dresses such as jeans and coats are popular among people because of their trendy fashion, I believe that there is a negative impact of this behaviour as people will forget their traditional values. People love to wear modern dresses because they are trendy and comfortable. Social media posts, news and movies are always showing individuals who are wearing skinny jeans, shorts and beautiful fashionable clothes. Moreover, these apparels are also lightweight as compared to traditional clothes that are composed of multiple layers of fabric and heavy embroidery. For example, these days, numerous shopping malls are selling modern European style clothes rather than old fashioned suits. Hence, this behaviour shows that people want to buy clothes that are popular and easy to wear. However, there is a significant negative effect of foreign apparel as people will forget their family values. Firstly, If we continue to wear trendy clothes in our daily lives, then our children will follow the same. So, after a few generations, nobody will remember any family values regarding dresses. Secondly, not only do clothes represent emotions, but they also show the dignity of our forefathers. In this way, we can lose our family traditions by wearing modern clothes. For example, many aboriginal tribes in Australia still wear their traditional dresses in order to preserve their culture and values. In conclusion, we examined why people are wearing fashionable apparel because of their popularity, as well as why this behaviour has a negative impact on individuals as we can forget our family values. In my opinion, people should respect their traditions rather than following fashion trends.