Many people are copying celebrities from magazines and on TV. Why is this happening? Do you think it’s a good idea to copy celebrities?

Nowadays, most people tend to act like well-known celebrities that frequently show up in TV shows and newspapers. I believe it is happening because ordinary people want to become more likeable and admired in their surroundings. However, I disagree that famous individuals can be good role models, especially for young people. The target demographic of internet-famous people is usually teenagers or adults in their twenties who are relatively immature and easily influenced. People of those ages are also known for being driven by their desire to appear more appealing and popular in their friend circle. Therefore, youngsters try to look up to and imitate social media influencers who are highly reputed in the public. Even though it is a common thing to copy celebrities, I disagree that it is beneficial for those who decide to become copycats of someone else. Firstly, acting like a different person will lead to the loss of uniqueness, and as a result, people who are imitating influencers will not be able to develop a distinctive personality in the long run. Secondly, the majority of modern big names are still young just like their audience. For instance, TikTok stars that got famous for doing dances on a social platform are usually students that have not even graduated. This means that these celebrities have not yet developed the feeling of responsibility and matureness for the actions they take. In conclusion, many people these days consider TV stars to be their idols nevertheless, they should be more selective of who to look up to since current celebrities have still not matured yet.