Some people who have been successful in society don't attribute their success to the theoretical knowledge they learned from their university. Do you agree or disagree that theoretical knowledge is not as valuable as expected?

Some successful in society people underestimate the importance of the theoretical knowledge they gained from their institutions. Therefore, it is widely believed that it is not as appreciated as it should be. I agree with this statement because nowadays, it is really hard to succeed and there is a high level of competition because of the world population. Firstly, there are more than 8 billion human beings across all countries and it is challenging to develop something new. Your own success primarily depends on your own start-up skills and not on your academic qualities and abilities, simply because there were more than 2000 other graduators in the university where you have been studying and you have to compete with all of them after graduation and that is just one university among thousands of them. Therefore, that is why you have to discover something unique since in today's digital age academic skills are not practically as valuable as they used to be. For instance, recent research showed that the rich mainly benefited from their personal and communicative skills, rather than the ones they inherited from their university. Moreover, as mentioned earlier, the world population is now more than 8 billion people and it leads to the abundance of candidates on job markets. Additionally, If you are good in IT-related fields, it does not guarantee that one day you will succeed since there is an extremely huge number of individuals who are capable of doing the same. For example, the overwhelming majority of dollar billionaires gained their wealth from implementing new ideas and creativity, definitely not from theoretical knowledge. In conclusion, I think that the knowledge you get in institutions is not enough to become wealthy and successful due to the large number of potential workers and the ones who want to work in the same field. This is why I am a firm believer that success mainly depends on personal capabilities and abilities, rather than theoretical and academic ones.