Some parents buy their children whatever they ask for, and allow their children to do whatever they want. Is this a good way to raise children? What consequences could this style of parenting have for children as they get older?

In today’s society, it is true that some parents tend to indulge and accept children ’ irrational requests whenever they ask for them. Personally, I suppose that bringing up young-aged offspring by following their expectations is not considered a smartly encouraging method and it will leave some associated mental and behavioural problems during their childhood or even adulthood. To begin with, there are definitely many convincing reasons that parenting style with over-indulgence is completely not an effective way. Firstly, children automatically claim that they are self-centred in their own homes and even in the community. Requests and wishes will be responded to whenever they are in need so they don’t really need to put more effort into work or study and it leads them to be dependent on other people all the time. Secondly, overly indulged children have badly looking attitudes to others. They tend to be disrespectful with family and friends and sometimes speak with contempt behaviour of poorly low-levelled people. For the aforementioned reasons, indulgent and lenient parents will probably cause many negative consequences for descendants in the long run. It is not denied that children with over permissiveness will be struggling in teamwork at their workplace. For instance, if their manager gives assignments for their group, they will rely on their teammates and guide them to ineffective working processes. Indeed, they could even fail in their career which is expected in their imagination. Furthermore, lecturing your children by granting their demands not only gives them a sense of satisfaction but also deprive their patience which helps a lot during their real life. Thus, a clear consequence is that they easily leave a job or turn down challenging opportunities because they face it difficult to face these challenges and don’t really want to strive hard in their goals. In conclusion, I strongly believe that this style of parents will cause many of negative impacts than its benefits for children in their whole life.