Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative mmedicines and treatmens instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In the present day, the number of sick people who are seeking care from alternative medicine regimens instead of conventional medicine is continually rising. In my opinion, this should be viewed as a negative development because of the current lack of credibility and evidence, and the possibility of the treatment causing a placebo effect bias rather than resulting in an actual cure. As of right now, there is still a scarcity of credibility and scientific, research-based evidence in the alternative medicine field. For example, in 2007, there was a malpractice case involving an alternative medicine practitioner, which caused a child to die from severe allergic reactions right after the practitioner administered a so-called herbal remedy. It turned out that the suspect did not have any medical background or qualifications. If the diseased people choose to seek treatments in a field with no objective resources for the practitioner to learn from and with the absence of qualifying requirements, it can be confirmed that the outcome would be significantly worse than going to a doctor instead. Furthermore, even if there are people who are cured of their diseases after receiving an alternative medicine approach, there is still a significant possibility that the cure is confounded by a placebo effect bias. People may be cured simply because they believed that only alternative medicine could cure their diseases when in reality, there were other factors that contributed more to their disease eradication process, as elaborated in a recently published research study. In conclusion, the change in health-seeking behaviour from the proper, conventional medicine field to an alternative approach should be viewed as a negative development, owing to its many downsides, such as the lack of evidence and the possibility of having a placebo effect.