Schools are no longer necessary because children can get so much information available through the internet, and they can study just as well at home. To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is true that the digital revolution has led people to argue that studying at schools is not necessary, since pupils can have access to information available via the Internet, so they can study well at home. While advances in technology have brought tangible benefits to important aspects of our lives, I totally disagree with this point of view. There are some reasons why students should follow compulsory education. Firstly, although all students are able to be computer literate and have access to the Internet at home, teachers play important roles in imposing discipline on each child. Since parents are out at work, it is unrealistic to imagine that children can sit alone studying at home, without distractions. Secondly, teachers not only impose discipline but also supervise and monitor the progress of children. By doing so, children will not fall behind with their studies. Furthermore, pupils can learn vital skills of cooperation and interaction, for example through classroom projects. On the other hand, the Internet is a unsuitable tool for children to educate themselves at home. Teachers can tailor their teaching strategies to meet individual students ’ needs, while teachers have no such flexibility. Interaction learning is possible through online sites, but it only takes the form of multiple-choice and answers. It is no substitute for face to face learning in which children interact directly with their teachers and fellow students. There is another consideration. The development of the ability to sift information available on the Internet only comes after when students enter university or follow vocational courses. In conclusion, teachers and schools play an inevitable role in the development of their children.