Some people think that government is responsible for the rise in obesity in children. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is a rise in obesity in children and some people believe that it is because of the government that this has happened. I, however, disagree with this statement because parents ' and kids' personal choices are the main reason for obesity in children. Family plays an important role in the health of younger children as parents decide and cook most of the meals.The food that they are served at home is the responsibility of the parent and not the government. For instance, giving a child chocolate and fried chicken five or six times a week for dinner is definitely going to increase their weight. It is the duty of parents to make sure kids are fed healthy and home-cooked meals at least 5 days a week. Most of the children nowadays spent their time at home playing on their phones, watching TV and using social media. They should do daily physical activities to control weight gain. These will keep them active and help burn calories. They should be encouraged, for example, to go to parks or join physical activity classes like zudo or dancing. The government cannot control these activities. Hence, parents are the ones making these choices and it is their job to keep children on the right track. Other than eating an unhealthy diet and a decrease in physical activity, hereditary is also one of the causes of obesity. It runs in family, so sometimes it is hard to lose weight even when the person is dieting, they keep gaining weight because of their genes. In conclusion, the government should not be held responsible for the eating choices of a family or child. Parents and children both play a major role in these decisions and the result of these decisions affects the child health. But sometimes it is just hereditary where no one is to be blamed.