Learning about the past has no value for those of us living in the present. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people say that we live in the present. That means we do not need to study about the past because it cannot affect our life and has no meaning. I totally disagree with this opinion because I think learning about succession and failure in the past can make people have a better life. On the one hand, studying from mistakes that you have made in the past can help to improve yourself nowadays. In other words, every time when people do not reach their goals, they can learn how to succeed by fixing a correct point and practice makes perfect. For instance, Addison, who created the first light bulb in the world has failed more than 1000 times. However, he never abandons his dream and continues to learn from his mistakes. Finally, he reached his goal. On the other hand, people can learn from the success stories in past to create their passion and motivation. Humans in the past made an effort to overcome nature like disasters. That is why almost every school provides their students to study history and they have to learn in effective ways to have benefits in the present. For example, the past from China tells about the strategies when they had the wars. If teachers understand the true advantages, they will transfer benefit methods such as how to make a plan in your life that is the positive aspect from this history. In conclusion, I strongly disagree that the stories in the past are useless and cannot learn anything from them. In my opinion, every event in the past including failure and success have merits if we understand how to study and adapt.