Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best route to a successful career, while others believe that it is better to get a job straight after school. Discuss both views.

In this day and age, there are a wide variety of ways to achieve a successful career path. While numerous people believe that attending higher university is the optimal way to reach their career targets, others claim that it is more beneficial to opt for a job or vocational training after high school graduation. In this essay, I will discuss both mentioned views before drawing the conclusion why I lean toward the former. On the one hand, it is understandable why finding a job immediately after leaving school is an advantageous means of achieving goals, given that this saves a huge amount of time and money for people. By doing this, young adults do not have to spend as much time as college students in order to be employed and start earning money, since there are a great number of short vocational training courses which enable learners to get a job right after finishing them. As a result, they can still have a successful career without having to make a huge effort and pay a lucrative amount of money for university, as long as they have goals and determination. On the other hand, it is also reasonable to apply for university if one’s aim is to have a good profession, in terms of chances of being employed and better working conditions. The primary reason is that during their college years, they can deepen their knowledge about their chosen fields, as well as acquiring hands-on experiences and soft skills such as team-working and communicating, which makes them more accomplished and have more potential to convince employers. As a result, having an occupation and getting promoted will not be a challenge for them. Additionally, workers that graduate from universities tend to have better working conditions and policies than those who did not attend higher education. For example, an office worker who went to college does not have to work under as extreme conditions as manual workers. In conclusion, going to university facilitates the journey to getting a desired career as it supplies students with professional understanding. Nonetheless, going straight to the employment market is also a good way to be successful.