In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

It appears that in recent times, the rise in the number of supermarkets and shopping malls exerts the local stores to disappear. This phenomenon is deduced as an advantageous transformation for the community and this essay will further elucidate the reasons leading to this judgement. Firstly, the appearance of the massive shopping centres points to the fact that more business investors see the potential in the area and are willing to invest. Evidently, it also contributes to creating several job opportunities for the locals. The second beneficial factor is the appropriate pricing of the products. To further explain, large convenience stores sell with fixed prices unlike small neighbourhood shops where the price can be bargained leaving one side of the transaction with a loss. Lastly, consumers can have access to a large selection of quality imported amenities at the shopping malls. For instance, a shopper looking for a pair of shoes can browse at several different retailers at the mall whereas the options at the local shops are minimal. Admittedly, it is also true that the dwindling numbers of small businesses has detrimental effects on the community as well as for those with low income. The shop owners lost their source of income and not everyone can afford to commute or purchase at the large chains. However, the outcomes of these are small enough to be ignored compared to the massive gains of this trend, In summary, the development of shopping districts is beneficial for the society because it invites more investors which lead to creating a number of vacancies for employment, the prices remain constant, and people can attain better products. Nonetheless, there are some negative consequences on a portion of the population although small in magnitude.