Modern technology has made it possible for people to view exhibitions at home, so museums and art galleries will disappear soon. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, it has become commonplace for artists to showcase their work online, enabling viewers to see their work from the comfort of their homes. This has especially become popular after the recent pandemic and stay-at-home orders. Some say this will eventually lead to the demise of museums and art galleries. In my opinion, I do not think this is the case, and museums are here to stay. First, museums and art galleries are an important fixture of urban societies. To a city, those establishments can be important landmarks and an important source of income through tourism. Not to mention that featuring artists in a famous museum can skyrocket their careers. For example, the Guggenheim Museum in New York and the Louvre in Paris are renowned buildings that have featured multiple world-famous artworks. Therefore, a gallery is not only a place to show artwork. It can also be a famous place of its own. In addition to this, online vieweing can limit the experience of the art piece. Cameras, microphones and other media between the viewer and the artwork can obscure or diminish some attributes that make it unique. For example, one may not fully appreciate the size of an artwork when viewing it from their screen, or they might miss out on intricate details that the camera could not capture. In conclusion, I believe that artists pour a lot of love into their works, and that is best experienced in person. Moreover, venues where artwork is exhibited remain important landmarks and a large source of income and employment for their cities, and they will not disappear any time soon.