The tradition that the family gets to eat meals is disappearing. What are the reasons? What are the impacts?

Nowadays, it is evident that traditional family mealtime has been declining quickly. This phenomenon can be explained by several reasons and have significant impacts on family lifestyles, health, and society. There are several factors leading to decrease in family mealtime. One primary reason is that, people at present society need to work for a longer period of time in order to maintain the living standards. When parents return home late, children are not able to eat with their parents. Another reason is more job opportunities out of their hometown, thanks to the widely use Change the form of the verb used show examples in internet. People nowadays can access to new information through Google very easily and quickly, while information asymmetry was very common in the past. For example, you can now have job interviews with an employer located 2000km away from your home through Zoom and solve all kinds of problems caused by relocation without too much difficulty. The consequences of disappearance in family mealtime can be very serious. To begin with, children’s manners and interpersonal skills will get worse because they have less quality time with parents, who are always the best teachers in children’s formative years. In addition, when youngsters do not eat with their family, they tend to eat in front of TVs or computer screens; thus they would be more likely to have health issues, such as eating disorders or obesity. Furthermore, less family bonding results in the decline in the perspective of traditional family values and therefore reduce in the marriage rate in the future. In conclusion, the decline in traditional family mealtime is mainly due to the change in people’s working styles and more job opportunities out of their home time, whereas this phenomenon will have negative effects to our lifestyles, health, and society.