In many situations, people who break the law should be warned instead of punished. To what extent do you agree or disagree?.

Many people believe that the law offenders must not be severely punished but should just be warned. I personally feel that the decision must be purely based on the type of crime committed as well as the intention behind it. Crime has become a serious & growing problem in all societies & critics generally argue that it is a natural human instinct. It has been a thriving problem for thousands of years and improvement in law enforcement can only hope to limit but not extinguish it. The reason for this is the natural conflict between the desires of individuals and the expectations of society. In most cases, an individual inhibits his or her impulses, but some lack this restraint and violate the dictates of society. Nonetheless, most of the crimes are made to fulfil the basic needs of food, clothing & shelter. It is necessary to understand the motive behind the crime before punishing the offender. Crime offenders must be given a chance to explain their intention and if at all it is a petty crime and if permanent damage hasn't been done to any of the human beings or property, they can be excused by giving a strict warning. Such people must be educated on the consequences of their actions and the authorities must show them the correct way to earn a livelihood. However, there are certain crimes that should never be pardoned. To elaborate on, assaulters who harm the lives of other people for their selfish sexual needs and the terrorists who attack another country and do great damage to the people and property must be severely punished. These criminals are very notorious in nature and are extremely dangerous to any society. To conclude, the decision of whether to give the criminal a second chance or punish them should depend on the type of crime & the intention behind it. Severe punishments must be given to human assaulters and the persons involved in petty crimes can be given a warning and be monitored closely.