Some people feel that the cost of space exploration is far too high for the benefits it brings. Others argue that space programmes should continue no matter what the cost. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In past decades, space exploration has revolutionised many aspects of humans life. However, is the cost of it worth investment? While some feel it is, I strongly believe it is not. On the one hand, some people believe that space programmes have brought many technological advantages. One of the most significant technology is satellite which could be used for various purposes such as communication, navigation and weather forecast. Consequently, humans benefit from being able to communicate much more efficiently and could foresee the changes in atmosphere and weather. Moreover, some supporters of space science and research believe that it has contributed to many useful inventions. For example, solar cells, freeze-dried food and memory foam, which are now widely used around the world, are all initially invented for space travelling. On the other hand, I agree with those who think the price for space exploration is far too much. First and foremost, travelling to space creates a large amount of pollution. Launching a rocket one time requires a great amount of fossil fuel and also releases so much toxic fume into the atmosphere which leads to worsening air pollution problems. As a result, not only will a large amount of money be needed to spend on creating a spaceship and for its energy resource, it will also be needed to counteract the following pollution problems. Moreover, in my opinion, there are other vital problems in society that need to be prioritised. For example, the budget for space exploration could be spent on helping people in many countries who are still struggling with malnutrition and lacking clean water. In some less developed countries, most poor people do not have access to a school or university for they could not afford the tuition fees. These problems, in my opinion, are much more urgent and needed to be prioritised. In conclusion, although space exploration has brought many technological advantages, it costs way too expensive for its benefits. Therefore, on balance, I believe that it should not be continued so that we could spend more on other aspects which are more important.