Many people believe that it is easier to have a healthy lifeystyle in the countryside. Others believe that there are more health benefits to living in cities. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is a debate over where it is easier to lead a healthy lifestyle. While some think that urban life is better in terms of health, I agree with those who argue that country life is more conducive to keeping good health. The argument that urban areas make it easier for their residents to be healthy holds some merit. Cities boast not only the latest medical equipment but also the most qualified doctors. The former is important for swift and correct diagnosis of the medical condition and therefore its treatment while the latter abound in cities for mostly financial and career reasons. None of these factors holds true for rural areas since the equipment is usually too old or doesn’t exist and medical professionals are in short supply. Perhaps not as important, but urban areas are also home to fitness facilities where urban dwellers can engage in various structured physical activities such as regularly training in the gyms or doing CrossFit or other similar physical pursuits, which are not available in the countryside. Despite these arguments, I believe that rural life is synonymous with a healthy lifestyle for two main reasons. Chief among them is better quality of air, food and water due to the absence of traffic, harmful farming practices, and industries. Rural people enjoy these in better quality while their city counterparts have them in poor quality and thus are more likely to suffer from various diseases, ranging from respiratory ones to cancer. Also, rural life is less stressful because of a relaxed pace of life whereas city dwellers often find themselves in stressful circumstances such as having to be stuck in traffic jams or lines for hours on end, or having their privacy violated. With stress being a main predictor of compromised health, those living in the countryside tend to be in better health. In conclusion, access to better healthcare is the standout benefit of living in the city in terms of health. However, the benefits of living in a rural area for health are greater because people enjoy fresher air, water and produce and a slower pace of life.