More and more plastic is polluting the oceans. What problems are caused by plastic waste? What can be done to solve this problem?

The invention of plastics is considered revolutionary, because of its durability, accessibility and cheap production cost. However, now plastic has now turned out to be one of the major environmental problem, since it is not easily degraded. Now as more and more plastic is being produced without recycling or reusing, which often end up in oceans, and in turn is polluting the oceans and affecting the underwater species. There are many major problems associated with plastic waste management, firstly, the single use polythene wastes which take years to degrade are often dumped in the ocean, due to which the habitat of many sea creatures are destroyed. For example, the plastic waste which is dumped into the ocean usually get stuck in the fins of dolphins, thereby restricting thier motion. Secondly the small plastic pieces dumped into the oceans are sometimes consumed by the fish and thus plastic enters into the food chain. For instance, reports have shown that humans consume approximately 2 grams of nano plastic particles every year through food. This results in severe illness and health problems. The solution to the plastic waste management crisis we are facing today is easier said than done. Although recycling is an option to reduce plastic production, the cost associated with recycling is huge compared to manufacturing polycarbonate products. Therefore, alternatives for plastic products should be promoted in the market, namely, companies which produce biodegradable alternative for styrofoam from a fungi, or edible water packages in place of plastic bottles. These types of innovations should be promoted, thus making people aware that it is high time to turn our back on plastic products. In summary, as more and more plastic is manufactured they end up polluting our oceans and lands. They enter into the food chain and cause health problems, therefore it is important that we find a solution for this problem. There are many innovative solutions available in the market right now and they need to be promoted as alternatives to plastic products.