There seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing students through exams rather than through continual assessment. What are the advantages and disadvantages of exams as a form of assessment?

The test is the one tool in order to measure the level of knowledge of learners which tends to be more popular in the academic field. I strongly believe that there are positive and negative actions. In this essay, I will elucidate the benefit and drawbacks with the following examples to support my point of view. Encouraging pupils' enthusiasm is likely to be the benefit of the examination. This is because learners might not give value and pay attention enough in often measurements. For instance, according to the latest survey conducted by Bangkok University, it has been reported that since the Covid-19 pandemic which has brought a huge number of online courses, also there are keen to have a crucial test at the end of the course rather than having the exams intermittently, therefore 80% of high school pupils said they have needed to join in of single class and pay more attention during the studying time. However, the examination might bring stress to students because of too much of the contents in one test. For example, as the recent news has revealed that 80% of a new generation in Thailand have done suicide, these events tend to happen in a period of evaluation time or after they have known the result of the test. This is because they might handle too much stress whether in terms of too many materials or circumstances where induced pressured such as competition among students. This might be the worst negative of examination. In conclusion, there are both benefits and drawbacks of appraisal,,, however the Ministry of Education should provide the balance and appropriate method to assess students. Otherwise, there are likely to have negative outcomes of this issue.