Some people think that competition at work, at school and in daily life is a good thing. Others believe that we should try to cooperate more, rather than competing against each other. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Competition is quite universal in our society. However, people have various opinions on this phenomenon. Some believe that competition is beneficial to social development, but the opposing side points out competition offers many detrimental effects on human beings. From my perspective, competition could create obstacles in various areas if not handled properly. Undoubtedly, being competitive is crucial on some particular occasions, especially when people have dedicated themselves to doing some meaningful jobs, which would bring positive influences to individuals and society. Appropriate competition could unleash people's potential, stimulating them to achieve their goals passionately. Furthermore, higher motivations and creativities caused by competition would create prosperity in the world. For example, Silicon Valley has a competitive working atmosphere where talented brains are competing to innovate better technologies to serve the community. So, our life quality gets improved by many technical innovations. On the other hand, it is apparent that life has become more stressful and difficult due to competition, even young children have to suffer it at school. In other words, excessive competition may destroy people's normal life that should be full of cooperation and support among people. Consequently, people would be more selfish and unfeeling without emotion and compassion, which makes threats against human civilizations. Therefore, more and more people are starting to review the importance of cooperation and reflect on the implications of competition. In my opinion, competition has to be limited in a particular frame, such as fairness and morality, otherwise, it would be more harm than good. All in all, humanity as a whole, should seek more cooperation.