In the request for development, many countries allow their natural environment to be affected. Such a strategy is well worthwhile, an economic development should always be placed ahead of the environment. Argue both sides, and give your opinion.

Countries nowadays are giving more priority to development than conservation of their environment. This trend is especially seen in developing nations, where forests are cleared in huge areas for building infrastructure. Although some people may argue that such a strategy where economic progress is placed ahead of the environment is worthwhile, I would beg to differ. Firstly, we should understand that rebuilding the flora and fauna native to a country would take years, for instance, trees cut down in the Amazon forests would have taken 20 to 30 years to grow, so, repairing that loss is never an easy task. Secondly, when the ecosystem is disturbed, there will be consequences like climate change or even natural calamities. To illustrate, in 2019, in Kerala the buildings constructed by clearing trees were lost in landslides and floods during the monsoon. When then economic expansion is given more importance than nature, there will be huge economic losses in the long term due to calamities or climate change. However, there should be a focus on development as well, because once the country’s economy is prosperous, various projects like sanctuaries and wildlife protection acts could be sanctioned, thus provide better protection for a nation’s flora and fauna. Likewise, when the country is developed, there will be better waste management programs which can, in turn, bring down pollution and thereby protect the environment. In conclusion, some countries are placing economic expansion ahead of environmental protection. Although a better economy would result in policies to conserve the ecosystem, placing economic progress alone at the forefront might not provide the desired results. In my opinion, both economic expansion and environmental conservation should go hand-in-hand, that is “sustainable development” should be the way forward.