**Watching a live performance such as a play, concert, or sporting event is more enjoyable than watching the same event on television.** **To what extent do you agree or disagree?**

The question of whether attending live entertainment provides a better experience than seeing it on TV has become progressively contentious. In my opinion, though it can be a delight to observe events in person, TVs nowadays offer the best viewing. The most frequently cited rationale for attending live performances is the unique experience. This argument rests on the fact that observing experts performing live could highlight the speed, precision and high level of talent that most ordinary people do not acquire. This can be most apparently seen in myriad games of famous sports celebrities like Messi, Ronaldo, Nadal who have made the world crazy about their craft. The recorded versions of these sporting events will last forever on the Internet but the experience to see them in person is irreplaceable. The accumulated evidence has reasoned why we should for once jump at the chance to catch these moments live. Albeit conceding the merits of watching live performances, I would still contend that advances in broadcasting have elevated the home-viewing experience these days. This is predicated based on the assumption that the advent of HD resolution displayed on TV has become a real game-changer in this area. One of the salient illustrations of this is often indicated in numerous football matches on TV, which now enables viewers to hear commentary, see close-ups of the players and follow the pace from an ideal angle and enjoy these within the comfort of their own home. In contrast, this is often neglected when people go to see these events in person because seating with the best view is predominantly reserved for VIPs, not always available to the public. Therefore, watching such events on TV confers a valid standpoint as it has been evidenced by the large shift from live performances towards the home-viewing experience over the past years. In conclusion, whilst attending live entertainment can be a distinct memory, watching it at home brings it to the next level. In my final thought, entertainment performers and organisers should jointly propose a more holistic approach in order to prevent these events from disappearing due to a lack of support from the citizenry.