Some parents buy their children whatever they ask for, and allow their children to do whatever they want. Is this a good way to raise children? What consequences could this style of parenting have for children as they get older?

Among different types of parents, there is a group who believes spoiling kids by giving them everything they wish and allowing them to do whatever they desire ain't a bad idea. This essay will discuss how this approach to parenting can make children thankless and disrespectful, besides turning them into stubborn adults later in their lives. Providing kids with everything they ask for, in the first instance, makes them ungrateful and disobedient. They'll have no respect for their elders as they think the world revolves around them; along with that, such kids feel they're not required to work hard to achieve something. In a human study conducted between two groups of kids, ranging from 5 to 12 years old, it was evaluated that the group who was given chocolates without any task achievement was less thankful, as compared to the kids who had to do a particular task to get chocolates. So, developing a habit of performing some activity to get their desired things, make kids grateful and respectful. Individuals who were allowed to have all their wishes fulfilled in the blink of an eye, turn out to be more stubborn. Their " I deserve to be served" mindset becomes toxic for people around them, consequently making them live isolated lives. A research paper regarding the sky-rocketing rates of divorces showed that in most cases, the abuser is the product of a " you can have all" kind of upbringing, although it's not always the case. So it can be said that simple things, when done wrong while raising the young ones, can lead to disturbed adults. In conclusion, the style of raising kids that don't refrain them from doing or having anything damages their personality; besides making kids thankless, it develops obstinate grown ups.