many social media accounts are fake . what problems does this cause? what solutions can you suggest?

Nowadays, many accounts on social media are not traceable and are not associated with a real person. This situation can lead to political and social issues as these accounts may be controlled by those who are in power and want to manipulate the masses for their own purposes.By asking for an ID social media companies can make sure that every account is in fact real and it is controlled by a real entity. By the increase in social platforms usage, the frequency of fake accounts has been raised dramatically. Such phenomena, have made it possible for certain individuals who have the money or the power, to greatly influence other people by using such fake acconts in great numbers. either through spreading fake news and misinformation or by commenting and trolling on posts and news that contradicts the ideas they support. For example, before the election of the United States president in 2016 some entities tried to change the results by spreading misinformation about Donald Trump utilising fake accounts on the internet. If an ID was required when an individual tried to build a social media account, that would hugely help the elimination of fake and unreliable accounts. In these circumstances, it is much more difficult for a person to fake his ID in comparison to a phone number or an email address which are more easily available.IDs are a suitable solution since they have been checked by the authorities already.Considering LinkedIn as a good example, this company asks its users to share their passports when they are trying to build an account on this platform. In conclusion, the noticeable rise in the number of fake accounts on different platforms of social media and on the internet in general needs to be addressed properly. Requiring an original ID can tackle this problem because individuals can be more easily traced and monitored when they have registered through their original documents.