In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people believe that in the future, no one will purchase printed newspapers or books anymore because everything you want to read is available online for free. This essay disagrees with this statement, because in digital media, the quality of the content is often sacrified and printed media also brings a different experience than reading digitally. Even though online news are free, the quality of the news is not as good as printed media. Not getting money from prints, online news sources relies on ads and clicks for their revenue. In other words, they focused more on the quantity of news they put out over the quality of it. This leads to clickbait titles, rushed news, and websites copy pasting each other for the sake of posting things quickly. As a result, a lot of the content is not conveyed well or often s traight up false. A recent data showed that over 70% of news online have some form on misinformation in them, from small bits of data to the whole article being wrong. Secondly, reading physical books is an irreplaceable experience. The distinct smell of books, the feel of paper in your hand, the sound of flipping pages; those things are not replicable by digital reading. Even if it might be true that some if not most people are not going to buy books anymore, a certain niche of book lovers would still go out of their way to purchase printed books. As an example, there was an online demonstration a few months back because a big publisher in Indonesia is going to stop production, showing that there is still demand for printed media. In conclusion, I believe that even when media is available online, there will still be a certain niche that prefers printed ones. The quality of the content and the experience of consuming it would be a few examples of the reasons for that choice.