Many teenagers now have their own Smartphones. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, most people, including youngsters in the age group of 13 to 18 have mobile phones, because access to modern technology is so ubiquitous. It is also observed that young people prefer to have Smartphones rather than ordinary ones. This is not necessarily the best thing to have happened. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of this trend while concluding with the opinion that it is more a distraction than an aid to success. In the first place, smartphones have been a boon to teenagers as their education is being transacted in the online mode in the current pandemic situation. While there is no debate about this advantage, it has not made the youngsters more focused on their studies. For example, there have been complaints from teachers that most students use the devices during their classes to browse social media sites simultaneously. This has resulted in worse performances on tests than on the usual offline classes and exams. It is evident therefore that these smart gadgets are mere toys rather than learning tools. On the other hand, a major disadvantage of the smartphones is that it is harmful to the eyes and additionally the radio waves emanating from it cause physical damage to the bodies of these youngsters. This problem is aggravated both by the need to use them for online classes and because students find browsing through online videos on platforms like Youtube, highly interesting. This has been illustrated by research that has concluded that 90% of people who spend their time online are teenagers and that there are now more of them who need prescription glasses than before. In conclusion, while smart mobile phones in the hands of teenagers have increased their awareness as well as enabling them to continue their education in the lockdown scenario of the pandemic, it has been harmful to them, both mentally and physically. In my opinion, therefore, the disadvantages of this trend outweigh the advantages. Hence, educational institutions have to find better means to deliver online learning. Additionally, educational video-conferencing platforms have to find a way to lock the screen and disallow users from parallel browsing. This will reduce screen time as well be less distracting.