In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

Despite the advancement in agricultural technology, many people across the globe still suffer from hunger. This phenomenon is caused by low productivity because farmers cannot afford things to enhance their production due to financial issues. In response to this problem, this essay proposes the government’s role to interfere and support the local farmer in maximizing the amount of local production. Farmers around the world do not have the same financial ability to afford agricultural supporting goods. This is to say, some farmers still use the traditional way to manage their land thus they can not maximize the result. For example, some farmers use fertilizer and insecticides to promote their plants’ growth and to prevent insects from eating their plants. However, some of them witness financial difficulty in affording these agricultural goods. Thus their plants cannot optimally grow due to lack of nutrients and the inteferention of animals. This causes a lower amount of produce and cannot meet the demands. The solution to this problem is to give financial aid, especially the farmers who have limited funds. The local government can provide cash to them or supply fertilizers and insecticides for those who need them. By doing so, the amount of crops produced by the local farmers will increase and thus will able to meet the market demands. For instance, the municipality of Bantul provided aids for farmers through supplying free fertilizers in 2021. In the following months, the authorities recorded there was an increase in the local production of rice. In conclusion, hunger in many areas can be caused by people’s limited budget which hinders their production. Therefore, the authorities’ role in providing aid for them is needed to increase local production.