Public transport should be funded by the government so that it can be free for people who use it. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Public transport in cities is important as it facilitates the movement of people from one place to another. Similarly, it helps in reducing traffic congestions and decreasing the usage of carbon fossils. In my view, it is paramount for the government to fund it by developing infrastructure, paying operators, and buying buses and trams so that the public can use them free of charge. To begin with, funding from the regime will assist in the development of physical infrastructures, which include stations and networks. The development of networks for bus rapid transport or trams within a city is quite expensive. In Nairobi, for example, there is limited land for the development of facilities like stations, so, land has to be acquired from private owners, which might be quite costly. Therefore, the government should take part in order to offset such costs. Another thing is that the authorities will, however, be able to buy trams and buses, and these assets will remain in their control. Perhaps, they can negotiate with manufacturers and they will buy it at a low cost, unlike private investors. Currently, the state of Kenya, for example, is in the process of developing lanes for BRT along major roads in the city. The government of Tanzania has already done it, and the outcome shows that there are more benefits to the masses like getting to work early; hence, saving man-hours that might have been lost in traffic. In addition to the above, the authority will pay wages for the public transport operators. Many staff will be needed to work as drivers, touts, security personnel, among others. For commuters to enjoy their daily trips, these individuals will be required to drive the trams or buses and operate the stations. In summary, government support will be quite important in the construction of infrastructure, paying salaries, purchasing buses and trams. Their support will go a long way in supporting the citizens.