Some people believe that all lawbreakers to put in to prison others think that is a good alternative.

Nowadays, It is argued by some people that any criminal has to be sent to jail when he or she commits a crime while others believe that different measures should be used. In this essay, I will look into both views and give my own opinion on the matter in detail. On the one hand, people in favour of sending offenders to prison have valid reasons for that. Firstly, it might be said that jail is a special facility that urges criminals to understand and feel the results of their wrong actions. In other words, restrictions, limitations and strict rules demotivate lawbreakers to re-offend. For example one of my relatives who served time behind the bars does not want to go back there. After release he chose life without a crime. Secondly, modern jails have training programs aimed at training inmates to acquire professions. That is to say, they have a good opportunity to learn about jobs that will change their aims and outlook while doing time behind bars. Take Japan as an example, in there, according to statistics 60 per cent of inmates who have a good profession and diploma never commit a crime again. On the other hand, there is an argument that criminals can be rehabilitated through other methods than sending them to jail. In other words, instead of sentencing criminals to time in prison, we should attract them to other useful works. As a result, they work beneficially for society and feel important and useful to the general public. This kind of feeling urges people never to re-offend when they are released. In conclusion, although it is a common belief that jail is the best way to punish criminals, I believe it is not necessary in a majority of cases. Personally, I think prison should be the last option when all else has failed.