More and more young people are using drugs and alcohol and as a result, breaking the law. What are the causes of this problem? What are some possible solutions?

In this cutting edge era, the use of drugs and liquor has been increasing day by day by teenagers and as a consequence, do not abide by the rules and regulations imposed by the government. In my opinion, peer pressure and popular media are the prime reasons for this problem. However, with the proper,education this problem can be solved. This essay will articulate some of the causes and its plausible remedial measures in the forthcoming paragraphs. To begin with, there can be many factors influencing the youth to experience alcohol and drugs. But, the first and foremost factor is peer pressure. To elucidate it, sometimes teens are under the influence of their friends, who ask them to try once for the sake of their friendship or other reason. They were told that it would be thrilling and exciting to use such products. For instance, an article published in " The Hindu newspaper" revealed that more than 50% of teenagers start consuming alcohol under the influence of their friends. Secondly, the media or entertainment world also plays a major role in advertising such products. For example, famous TV personalities are seen to talk about the use of drugs openly in some TV shows these days. Moreover, many actors are seen to use such products at their parties. Therefore, the youth try to follow their role models. However, they are detrimental to health. On the other hand, proper steps need to be taken to avoid this kind of lifestyle. In the first step, the government should take strict actions not only against the consumers but also against the friends who force them to consume. In addition, the government should start awareness programmes,especially to the college/university campuses to educate the youth about the ill effects of its use. Similarly, parents should watch their children carefully in regards to their friends ' circle, habits etc. Additionally, the people who came out of the rehabilitation centres should motivate others about its harmful effects. To sum up, nowadays, the young generation seemed to be more inclined towards the use of drugs and liquor. Various reasons like peer pressure and media; and preventive measures are discussed in this essay. I recommend that proper initiatives should be taken to overcome the problem.